Tongue control…

  


Just the other day I stopped by a local salon / barber shop to get a trim. I did not have an appointment and I was actually in a bit of a hurry. I was getting pretty shaggy and I absolutely had to make time for a cut!  There were no other customers waiting when I walked in, so I politely asked if I could be done within 30 minutes. One of the ladies spoke up and said, “No problem”. 

She quickly snapped a clean barber’s cape and draped it around my neck, and began to tell me that my particularly handsome haircut is a “Quick cut” for her. I have to tell you, up to this point this haircut was actually turning out to be a great experience. The hairstylist was motivated, eager to please, prompt in her service, and confident in the task she was about to perform. All the makings of an awesome hair cut, right?

Well it would have been, but soon after getting me in the chair, she lowered her voice and without reason began telling me about one of her co-workers.  “She would take forever to do this” My stylist said, indicating one of the hair stylists reflected in the mirror in front of us.  “She is sooooooo slow! I’m not kidding; it would take her at least 30 – 45 minutes to do this cut.” 

She went on to explain how she just could not understand how the other hairstylist could be so slow; especially considering that the culture at this particular establishment was based on a fast paced environment. To top it all off, she finished with; “I don’t know why she even works here”. 

I didn’t know how to respond. It was all I could do to stay in the chair. She had no idea how turned off I was by how she was belitttling her co-worker. As a small business owner myself, I’m here to tell you that if you cannot edify your co-workers and peers when you speak about them, then you should keep your mouth shut.  

At ALL levels of employment, from entry level to CEO or even owner of a business, there is nothing good nor beneficial that can come from speaking poorly of your co-workers, teammates, employees, and peers.  Especially if they are not around to hear what you are saying.   

Your tongue is a powerful muscle and it needs to be trained just like the rest of your body. Train it to praise, give advice when warranted, console and express love, but never let your tongue speak poorly of those around you or for that matter…ANYONE. 

 

Chip

 

Leave a Reply

